Posted by: POLC Staff Posted date: January 6, 2017
Effective January 2, 2017, Police Officers are now “licensed” and not “certified” by MCOLES. PA 289 of 2016 made the anticipated switch to licensing to match other Michigan professions. The change in name has no effect on current officers status.
The new law does expand the lists of criminal adjudications of guilt that shall result in the revocation of a Michigan law enforcement license. The license is revoked if the officer is adjudicated as guilty of any of the following Michigan misdemeanors, or their equivalents in any jurisdiction outside of Michigan:
- Any violation of a law punishable by imprisonment of more than 1 year
- Second Offense of Domestic Violence
- First Offense of assaulting an individual without a weapon and inflicting serious injury, without intent to commit murder or to inflict great bodily harm
- First Offense of Domestic Violence without a weapon and inflicting serious injury, without the intent to commit murder or to inflict great bodily harm
- Misdemeanor possession of drugs except marijuana
- Misdemeanor use of drugs including marijuana regardless of a medical marijuana card
- Second Offense operating while intoxicated/drugged within 7 years
An adjudication of guilt does not require a conviction and includes an order of probation for a first-time domestic offense, an order of probation for a first-time controlled substance offense, an order of probation under the Holmes Youthful Trainee Act, and pleas under advisement where a court delays sentence after a plea establishing guilt is entered including no-contest pleas.
PA 289 of 2016 also addresses standards for obtaining a new Michigan law enforcement license for those seeking to become a police officer. Requirements including education, prohibited criminal adjudications, valid drivers license, physical ability, hearing, vision, psychological fitness and other requirements. A complete updated copy of these standards is available by clicking here.